FAVORITE THINGS I NEVER GET TO DO

Have you also wondered what could have been if you thought differently, wanted different things or lived a different life? With so many things that I wanted to do, I think that if I developed an interest or devoted time in doing something else, I can be really good at it. Like if I developed an interest in swimming. Or if I didn’t hate math so much or I didn’t turn my back on science. It’s always that nagging feeling of “so many things to do, so little time,” that it makes you wonder what if you actually just do it.

I believe we do certain things because it’s either what we want or it’s easier that way. But isn’t it interesting that there are so many other cool things one could venture at if given the talent, the desire, the time and the appropriate passion for it?

Here are six things that I would have love to do if the gods of fate pushed me in the right direction:

6. Play the guitar.

I think it’s safe to say that everyone who has ears loves music. But not everyone loves music and feels frustrated at not being to play it at the same time. Maybe I can sing a tune, yes, but I’ve always wanted to play the guitar. For me, the guitar is the most powerful and most convenient of all musical instruments because you can have it with you anytime you want. And I’m all for power and convenience. Plus most, if not all, great songs of all time are guitar-aided, which is great. Another thing is, girls are easily swooned by guys who can play the guitar compared to the one, let’s say, playing the cello, the maracas or the trombone. Although swooning girls isn’t exactly a venture I’d want to try. Last time I checked, I still like men. πŸ˜›

Maybe it’s because my family isn’t exactly musically-inclined that’s why it’s been such a sad solo plight of mine. It’s actually a surprise that I was able to develop such a keen interest in music when no one in my family cares if you have toys for your first piano and guitar (so sad.) For them, music isn’t really something you should be obsessed about. Which I’m wholeheartedly not supporting. You don’t know how many times my mom gets pissed off everytime she talks and then she sees that I have my earphones stuck in my ears (not that I do that deliberately πŸ˜› Hey, I’m focused!) Or every time I turn the volume of the speakers high enough to be heard by the neighbors which are actually miles away from us. My excuse is, and I think it’s valid, I always set the volume of the music according to how I want to enjoy it. Which of course my mom will never understand. Anyhoo, I actually long for the moment when my mom gets to be mad at me because I play the guitar all the time. Hehe Or we don’t need for anyone to be mad. Just help me play that effing guitar!

(Someone actually promised to teach me but that someone is out of my life so…it’s his fault, not mine.)

5. Drive.

It would have been really great if I know how to drive a car. I could take myself to places without having to depend on someone to do it for me. Or depend my time according to one’s availability. I could invite my friends to go anywhere we want and then we could chip in for gas to lessen my expenses. Maybe we’ll find a hot hitchhiker in the process to share some awesome time with. Γ– But sadly, I don’t think I’ll be able to do this since 1. I’m a nervous wreck. 2. I’m not very good with confrontations (especially with traffic patrols) 3. I tend to become absent-minded especially when I’m distracted 4. I think parking is the one practical art I can’t do (yes, it’s that complicated for me. Valets are expensive.) 5. I’d be totally frantic helpless if I get stranded or I get a flat tire or the machine dies on me. 6. I’m not even good at bump cars!

4. Work in the medical field.

During my grade school years, I’ve always excelled in my Science classes. Biology (aside from Physics) was my most favorite subject. I even represented our school for a National Young Scientist quiz bee once (although I wasn’t able to advance in the regional round. :D) In short, I used to rock as a science geek. My former teachers actually expected I’d take a pre-med course in college and I’d go on to become a doctor. But then HS happened. I found myself liking other things. Even though most of my classmates thought our Biology teacher was hot, it wasn’t enough to get me hooked to it again. But it would’ve been nice if I were in the medical field. I mean, I had the initial desire. I think I would’ve been good at it. I would’ve helped my father quit smoking (because her daughter who’s a doctor says so.) I’m not deathly afraid scared of blood and needles and human guts popping out anyway. (Okay, who am I kidding?) But then again, I’m not exactly good with my hands. I’m a super klutz. I’ll never do well with scalpels. And opening people up to save their lives. Plus, when a patient dies on my table, I’d probably think his ghost would haunt me for the rest of my life and I don’t think it’s something that I have the energy to deal with.

3. Learn to speak another language

You’d think this one’s not too late since many people take time to enroll in Instituto Cervantes or any other schools that teach romantic languages here in the country. Plus I was able to learn elementary and intermediate Spanish for two semesters (which unfortunately was not at all helpful.) But I would’ve loved it if I pursued to learn French, Italian, Spanish or German when I was much younger. Because it’s faster to learn that way. Plus the overzealousness of a child beats a young adult trying to make up for lost time.

2. Be computer savvy.

I hated MS-DOS. I thought it was utterly useless. And then forcing students to spend an hour everyday to deal with a black screen and stupid commands made it even worse for me. But then the computer world has improved immensely over the years. And it has become this complicated yet beautiful thing that you’d want to get to know better. If only these awesome things were available back then, I would’ve been more attentive. Today, it’s not so cool when all you know are basic Office stuff with a touch of Paint. It’s much better if one knows a few cool tricks like building your own website much like the best websites to date. Or creating a social network like MySpace or Facebook that has overpowered the test of common web knowledge. It’s definitely so much cooler when you become computer pioneers–who gets to create softwares or start web applications and trends for worldwide consumption. Like the next Jerry Yang and David Filo or the next Larry Page and Sergey Brin. If we could turn back time, highschool-themed movies will be so much different. The geeks would be the bullies and would definitely get the prettiest girls.

1. Be artistic.

I never enjoyed our Art classes back in the day because I knew I couldn’t draw well to save my life. But if I actually took time to enjoy it back then, I knew I can do it. Right now, I’ve been contented at admiring the works of the great artists I know. I find their work really romantic. Artists have this sense of individuality that I also find really attractive. It’s like they live for self-expression. And to be able to sketch or paint a picture so wonderful, you’d think it’s real, is just real talent for me.

Maybe it’s not too late. Now if I can just draw a cat without it looking like a shoe, I’ll be all set. πŸ™‚

~ by Mitch on May 1, 2008.

14 Responses to “FAVORITE THINGS I NEVER GET TO DO”

  1. I find art very amusing and very interesting also. Kung may talent lang ako, I would’ve taken Fine Arts or Photography. Art has this certain charisma, somewhat unexplainable. But this is just the way I see it.

    Gusto ko naman matutuo magdrums and piano. Frustrated din ako sa area na yan, haha πŸ˜€

    FRENCH! French = SEXY! Hay. Malapit na ko na itulak ang sarili ko para magaral nyan sa UP. Just don’t have the time. Too much to do πŸ™‚

    So, ang dami ko talagang shinare dba? Enjoyed your post, as always πŸ˜€

  2. marunong ako mag-guitar. pero basic chords lang. BUT it made someone fall in love with me. Ewan ko ba, sabi niya kasi, not all girls look hot while holding guitars. wahahaha. as if im “hot”. πŸ˜€

    nung grade school din, i wanted to be a doctor. dahil lang naman sa cousin ko na doctor. hehehe. pero nagsimula akong makakita ng super daming blood, ayun. nawala na sa wish list ko.

    frustration ko din ang drawing, painting, etc. siguro inborn na talaga na di ako matututo. frustration pa kung magaling ang nanay mo at kapatid mo. at walang talent na ganun na napunta sayo. huhuhu.

    πŸ˜€

    ..buti nalang mas magaling ako sa kanila kumanta. harharhar πŸ˜€

  3. mag-gitara ka na kasi e, kahit bass na nga lang. buo na tayo ng banda. πŸ˜€

  4. Zhel: Yes, the French language is so sexy! And French men too! @_@

    Ria: Oo nga. Naaalala ko tuloy mga birit mo sa klase. πŸ˜›

    Karlo: Hahaha SOON. πŸ˜€

  5. I seriously, seriously idolize Brandon Boyd.

    I suck at the guitar, though. One of the things I fantasize, as a teenage boy, is to play drums (which is quite I’m into right now).

    Blog-hopping!

  6. Seriouslie: At least you play something! Hehe Thanks for dropping by.

  7. hi sis, same here, i want to learn guitar, violin, drums, ballet but never had the chance to do it, because none of my family are inclined with it. But its not too late, who knows tomorrow someone will bring a guitar at your doorstep or you’ll catch a hottie DR. boytoy *grin*.

    God bless! πŸ™‚

  8. Val: How I wish! But you’ll never know nga naman. Hehehe Sabay bawi. Hope you’re doing fine. πŸ˜€

  9. Interesting. I have the same wishes too. From 6 to 1. yup. Although, i’d like to add one more: Be a Martial Arts Master. i want to master all martial arts the chinky-eyed people invented. pretty cool. yeah!
    Tell me if you can speak fluent French na ha. Then talk to me in French. Although i won’t be able to understand you, liligawan pa rin kita! mwah! Seriously, i think that’s no. 1 you should start pursuing coz i think you’ll be fantastic at it, Mademoisselle Michelle..
    Next is playing the guitar. Not because you have an American-Idol-worth voice (joke!) but because i know haharanahin mo ko when you’ve finally learned to strum a tune. hehe.

    Miss you! See you soon.

  10. Kate: What the…your comments are always weirder than you are. And that is saying something. hehe I don’t have an American Idol voice because rockstars do not sing, they perform. Wahahahaha! πŸ˜€ JK!

  11. ayaw mong maging print ad model at mailagay sa isang billboard sa EDSA? haha.. ako yun ang pangarap ko. :p

  12. Hahaha! I’ll look forward to it, Kuya! Wag lang babagsak billboard mo pag may bagyo. πŸ˜›

  13. It’s not too late to the things you want to do. Also, you can always find a new someone to teach you to play the guitar.

  14. Arsenal: I know. BUT. It’s harder to find someone you’re comfortable with to teach you to play. As far as I’m concerned, though. I don’t like the teacher-student atmosphere eh. LOL

Leave a Reply

 
